Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Active  | Guidelines  | Search

Quick Go »
No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 16
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 760 times and has 15 replies Next Thread
Former Member
Cruncher
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
is it worth to ...

Hello,

I'm new to WCG and like to contribute my cpu time, but I wonder if it is worth to crunch with a computer that is only on a few hours a day. I'm not a PC fanatic and I use it only at home for mail and newsgroups and sometimes just for searching the Net.
I'm afraid some tasks will runout of time and so I will spoil the whole thing. It would be stupid to think I'm doing something good for mankind while no WU can be accomplished, don't you agree?
I installed WCG a few days ago and it is performing it's first task, with around 25 % done.

Is it wise to continue or shall I leave the project to people who have more CPU time to offer?

BTW: sorry for my bad English, I'm Flemish.

Parco
[Dec 3, 2005 10:00:37 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher
Re: is it worth to ...

i leave mine on. i think it's about the same as leaving on 1 light bulb in your house.
[Dec 3, 2005 10:30:51 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
David Autumns
Ace Cruncher
UK
Project Badges:

Morning Parco

You have up to 3 weeks to return a work unit. The HIV work units are running at about 8 hours at the moment. So if you can spare about 22 minutes on average per day on your PC then it will contribute to the total.

Just think

It could be that work unit that makes the difference.

Don't give up on us Parco to quote an advertising slogan from a Huge Supermarket in the UK

"Every little helps"

Dave
----------------------------------------