Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Active  | Guidelines  | Search

Quick Go »
No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 116
Posts: 116   Pages: 12   [ 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 54742 times and has 115 replies Next Thread
Cyclops
Senior Cruncher
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
WCG Team Update

Hi everyone!

My name is Cyclops, and I am the new Communications Intern at WCG. For the next 16 months, I will be communicating with you and answering any questions on the web site/forums, Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. I am new to the World Community Grid community but I was blown away by the support, ingenuity and unity shared among volunteers. I will also provide information on research team updates, current news from the technical team, and answer all your concerns and collect suggestions.

As a start, I wanted to address by far the biggest concern that the team has been seeing on the forums recently: why is the “migration” taking so long? The move of WCG from IBM to our group at Krembil Research Institute has been a significant undertaking, considering time, people and physical infrastructure. After planning, legal matters, design and setup, we had to reconfigure the system to work on our current hardware, and consider our licensing options. While we did expand our MCM team lightly, we are still a very small academic team. The process has been taking longer than we anticipated; but be assured that we are working hard to ensure WCG will continue accelerating science with your help!